

Minutes of the Meeting of the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES Academic Affairs Committee Wednesday, March 7, 2012 87 Blackinton Street Conference Room

Members in attendance:

William Dudley, Chair Stephen Crowe Susan Gold Dick Lamb Joelle Collins

Others in attendance:

Mary K. Grant, President Cynthia Brown, Vice President of Academic Affairs Monica Joslin, Dean of Academic Affairs Thomas Bernard, Clerk

The meeting was called to order at 10:36 a.m. by Trustee Dudley.

Reappointments

Vice President Brown provided an overview of the annual reappointment process. Faculty are evaluated on their teaching during their first year of service. In their second year, and in each successive year leading to their application for tenure, they submit a portfolio of their work from the previous year, which provides evidence of their teaching, advising, scholarship, and campus service.

The reappointment process provides faculty with many opportunities for feedback and guidance as part of their progression toward tenure.

President Grant noted that reappointments do not require a Board vote. The only personnel action that requires a formal vote of the Board is tenure. However, it is important that the Trustees get to know the faculty and their progression during the reappointment process.

Vice President Brown has recommended and the president has approved the following faculty for, fifth, fourth, and third year reappointments.

Fifth Year

Emily Mooney, Assistant Professor, Biology Melanie Mowinski, Assistant Professor, Fine and Performing Arts (Art) Daniel Shustack, Assistant Professor, Biology (Environmental Studies)

Fourth Year

Sharon Claffey, Assistant Professor of Psychology Petra Hejnova, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Public Policy

Third Year

Rita Nnodim, Assistant Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies Laura Standley, Assistant Professor of Fine and Performing Arts (Theatre) Jennifer Zoltanski, Assistant Professor of Sociology

Tenure

In addition to the tenure track faculty eligible for reappointment, Vice President Brown presented the Committee with recommendations that three members of the faculty be awarded tenure. President Grant noted that she supported the recommendations.

It was again noted that the annual reappointment process provides faculty with opportunities for feedback and guidance in their progress toward tenure, and helps the Board to get to know the faculty and follow their progress on the path to tenure. The Committee reviewed the tenure recommendations for the following faculty members:

Dr. Michael Dilthey, Assistant Professor of Fine and Performing Arts (Music)

Dr. Dale Fink, Assistant Professor of Education

Dr. Elena Traister, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, it was

VOTED unanimously to recommend tenure for Dr. Dilthey, Dr. Fink, and Dr. Traister.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:50 a.m.